HeavyMail Logo
HeavyMail LogoHomeGet StartedFAQsAbout Us   People using HeavyMail to send large files and folders over the internet  
 


How does HeavyMail work?
Does HeavyMail make my connection to the Internet faster?
Why does HeavyMail use my email address as my user name?
Does HeavyMail send email to my existing email address? Does it affect my email account in any way?
Is HeavyMail Secure?
Does HeavyMail Protect My Privacy?
How Many People Can I Send a HeavyMail at once?
How Many HeavyMails Can I Send and Receive at the Same Time?
How Many Files Can I Attach? Is There a Size Limit?
What Happens If I Close HeavyMail or Lose My Connection?
How Can I Tell If I’m Sending or Receiving HeavyMail?

How does HeavyMail work?

The HeavyMail software that you install on your computer sends your message and files to a server on the Internet, where they are stored until the person you’re sending them to connects to the HeavyMail network. Then the server sends the message and files to the HeavyMail software on that person’s computer. HeavyMail servers will hold a message and files you’ve sent for ten days before deleting them from the server.

Whenever you send HeavyMail to someone, the HeavyMail network sends a regular (small) email to that person notifying him or her that you’ve sent something. If the person you are sending to doesn’t yet have the software or a HeavyMail account, the email from the HeavyMail network will include an easy way to get started by just clicking a link. When your friend or colleague has received the message and files you sent, you will receive a notification email from the HeavyMail network that lets you know this has happened.

[ top ]

Does HeavyMail make my connection to the Internet faster?

No. Your HeavyMail messages can only move as fast as your connection allows. Big files may still take some time to get to where you want them, but just start HeavyMail working and let it run. There’s nothing you need to do.

[ top ]

Why does HeavyMail use my email address as my user name?

We do this for two reasons: your email address is already what we call a “unique identifier”, in other words, no one else but you has this “name”. Why invent a new ID for your HeavyMail account, when you’ve already got one that works? The other reason is that we notify both senders and receivers about the status of their HeavyMail messages by email. This is the email address we’ll use for you. (By the way, if you’re worried about us having your email address, see our privacy statement. In short, we protect your privacy, but read it anyway. )

[ top ]

Does HeavyMail send email to my existing email address? Does it affect my email account in any way?

No. Your HeavyMail messages only go to the HeavyMail software on your computer. We do send you small notification emails at your email address as described in the preceding question, but nothing big goes there from us.

[ top ]

Is HeavyMail Secure?

HeavyMail is highly secure, using 128 bit AES and SSL encryption to protect files end to end. This level of encryption makes HeavyMail HIPAA-compliant, and Sarbanes-Oxley-compliant.

[ top ]

Does HeavyMail Protect My Privacy?

The folks at HeavyMail hate spyware and spam. We will always protect your privacy and the trust you put in us when you use HeavyMail. We will never release your email address or any other personal data to anyone without your express permission, except if we are ordered to do so by a U.S. Court of Law. (We don’t expect that to happen, and it would not be for commercial purposes.) We will never add spyware or adware to HeavyMail.

[ top ]

How Many People Can I Send a HeavyMail at once?

The current limit is ten recipients for any one HeavyMail.

[ top ]

How Many HeavyMails Can I Send and Receive at the Same Time?

You can currently send five HeavyMail messages and receive five HeavyMail messages simultaneously.

[ top ]

How Many Files Can I Attach? Is There a Size Limit?

The current limit for any single HeavyMail message is 2 Gigabytes. This might be one file or the cumulative size of a folder of files.

[ top ]

What Happens If I Close HeavyMail or Lose My Connection?

One of the coolest things about HeavyMail is that it will pick up where you left off. So don’t worry about losing your connection, or closing HeavyMail if you have to. The next time you connect, your message will resume doing what it was doing, from where it was in the process, when you closed HeavyMail.

[ top ]

How Can I Tell If I’m Sending or Receiving HeavyMail?

Click on ‘Sending’ or ‘Receiving’ on the left side of HeavyMail, under your email address. You’ll see how your message is progressing, including how much of it has been received or sent, in the main window.

[ top ]